The Musical World of Rocky Horror

This is the original soundtrack to the 1981 film Shock Treatment - Richard O'Brien's "Not a prequel, not a sequel, but an equal" follow-up to The Rocky Horror Picture Show. The album was produced by Richard Hartley (who also wrote, arranged, and directed the music in addition to playing keyboards). All songs from the movie are included, other than a Richard O'Brien solo version of the title track that is played during the end credits which was released separately as a 7" single instead. The end of the "Denton, U.S.A." track additionally includes complete dialogue for the Farley Flavors' Fabulous Fast Foods (F for...) commercial, and the "Breaking Out" track also has dialogue for the intro to Brad and Farley's "Duel Duet". The soundtrack includes longer versions of "Thank God I'm A Man" (re-including an omitted verse by Harry Weiss) and "Carte Blanche" (the song playing over the background speakers while Janet is in the dressing room).

As of this writing in 2009, the CD reissue has been in print continuously since its release and is easily available from CDUniverse, Amazon, or similar.

Both the original vinyl and the CD reissue have the same tracks and front cover. The LP back cover features a lot more photos than the CD back cover (since there's more room, obviously). The credits that were present on the LP back cover were moved into the CD liner notes, for the most part.

Rocky Horror Treatment (1981)Rocky Horror Treatment (1981) - 22 minutes 38 seconds (540x416, 30 fps, 151.7 MB). "And now, after six years, they've taken the hero and heroine of The Rocky Horror Picture Show and put them in a brand new movie. It's called Shock Treatment!" This promotional documentary hosted by fan club president Sal Piro was aired on late night television. It follows the Rocky Horror Picture Show cult phenomenon through Sal's trip behind the scenes in England during the filming of Shock Treatment. Interview subjects include Richard O'Brien, Little Nell, Christopher Malcolm (generally in character as Vance Parker), Michael White, Patricia Quinn, and Rik Mayall.
Shock Treatment (International Trailer)Shock Treatment (International Trailer) - 2 minutes 20 seconds (540x406, 24 fps, 15.6 MB). Basically identical to the theatrical trailer, except the sound is mono and it loses the cool/creepy bits by Richard O'Brien as Dr. Cosmo McKinley.
Shock Treatment (Theatrical Trailer)Shock Treatment (Theatrical Trailer) - 2 minutes 37 seconds (540x406, 24 fps, 17.5 MB). "Hello, I'm Dr. Cosmo McKinley. I'd like to tell you about a new film from the gang that gave you The Rocky Horror Show... Shock Treatment." "You'll be pathetically crazy about Shock Treatment. Trust me... I'm a doctor."


Richard O'Brien - Miscellaneous

Shock Treatment Soundtrack

Shock Treatment (Still B&W Photo #SH-3)
750x497 JPEG, 158 KB
Shock Treatment (Still B&W Photo #SH-7)
750x500 JPEG, 134 KB
Shock Treatment (Still B&W Photo #SH-2)
750x504 JPEG, 147 KB
Shock Treatment (Still Color Photo)
750x604 JPEG, 210 KB
Shock Treatment (Still Color Photo)
750x605 JPEG, 246 KB
Shock Treatment (Still Color Photo)
750x606 JPEG, 180 KB
Shock Treatment (Still Color Photo)
750x606 JPEG, 274 KB
Shock Treatment (Still Color Photo)
750x606 JPEG, 205 KB
Shock Treatment (Still Color Photo)
750x607 JPEG, 189 KB
Shock Treatment (Still Color Photo)
750x607 JPEG, 139 KB
Shock Treatment (Still Color Photo)
750x607 JPEG, 268 KB
Shock Treatment (Still B&W Photo #SH-22)
525x750 JPEG, 159 KB



Designed by Brian Thomson
Costume Designer Sue Blane
Music by Richard Hartley and Richard O'Brien
Screenplay by Richard O'Brien and Jim Sharman
Additional ideas Brian Thomson
Executive Producers Lou Adler and Michael White
Produced by John Goldstone
Directed by Jim Sharman

Cast of Characters

Cliff de Young as Farley Flavors & Brad Majors
Jessica Harper as Janet Majors
Barry Humphries as Bert Schnick
Charles Gray as Judge Oliver Wright
Patricia Quinn as Nation McKinley
Richard O'Brien as Cosmo McKinley
Manning Redwood as Dad
Darlene Johnson as Mom
Nell Campbell as Ansalong
Ruby Wax as Betty Hapschatt
Jeremy Newson as Ralph Hapschatt
Wendy Raebeck as Macy Struthers
Rik Mayall as Ricky
Betsy Brantley as Neely Pritt
Christopher Malcolm as Vance Parker
Gary Shail as Oscar Drill
Donald Waugh as Glish
David John as "Bit" drummer
Gary Martin as "Bit" guitarist
Sinitta Renet as Cheerleader


Bass Guitar: Dave Wintour
Guitar: Mark Hayden
Guitar: Hugh Burns
Drums: Leslie Morgan
Keyboards: Michael Weaver
Keyboards: Richard Hartley
Brass Section: Geoff Daley, Mike Davis, Martin Drover, Chris Pyne, Steve Rye, Ray Warleigh, Jim Wilson

Soundtrack Recording

Recorded at Regents Park Recording Studios, London
Recorded and mixed by Phil Chapman
Musical arrangements and direction by Richard Hartley
Album produced by Richard Hartley

Album Design: Willardson and White
Art Direction: Ode Visuals